top of page

Nostalgia Sunday: Teen Films


film posters for Hairspray; 13 going on 30; a cinderella story; angus, thongs and perfect snogging; the lizzie mcguire movie; mean girls; and 17 again

I think we can all agree that the noughties teen movies are the creme de la creme of every single teen movie to ever exist. In today's blog post, I bring you the creme de la creme of noughties teen movies and give you my opinions on these legendary movies...


hairspray movie poster

I can remember the first time I watched this was on E4 on a Sunday afternoon and I have been hooked ever since. A film with my all-time favourite crush Zac Efron? Yes, please! I don't know if anyone else remembers this but there was a time when E4 would put Hairspray on pretty much every weekend and you best bet that every single time it was on I was sat in front of my TV singing and dancing along and wishing I could be anyone that got to kiss Zac Efron. In fact, screw that, I just would have been any cast member as it would mean, at the very least, that I got to be in the presence of the man himself. If you have Amazon Prime, you can watch the movie here.


13 going on 30 movie poster

This is a film I have only watched recently and I can only apologise to everyone for not having watched it sooner. It has become one of my all-time favourite films and is one I could quite happily watch over and over again and never get bored of it. I honestly think this film should be made mandatory viewing for teenagers as like I have mentioned before, when you're younger you tend to wish a lot of your teenage years away on wanting to be an adult, instead of just acting your age and embracing your child and teenage years. If you have Netflix, you can watch the movie here.


a cinderella story movie poster

This is definitely up there as one of my all-time favourite movies and, much like Hairspray, there was a point a few years ago where it was on all the time on ITV2 and every single time it was on, you best believe I was sat right in front of my TV screen watching it. Much like everyone that's ever watched this movie, my main question is how the f*** did Austin not realise that Sam was the girl in the mask, especially given it covered hardly any of her face. I know I've already said this, and I think the same can be said for every movie on this list, but it is just one of those movies that you can watch over and over again and never get bored of it. If you have Netflix, you can watch the movie here.


angus, thongs and perfect snogging movie poster

This is definitely one of the best movies to ever exist and if you listen to 'she's so lovely' by Scouting for Girls and don't think of the scene in this movie where Georgia is running down the street dressed as an olive then I honestly don't know where you've been living other than under a rock (unless, of course, it makes you think of Gavin and Stacey, in which case, you're forgiven). I also think we can also all agree that 'slaggy Lindsay' was actually the real victim in all of this and didn't deserve half of the abuse she got. I also think we can all agree that it was completely unreasonable for Georgia to get in a strop because her parents wouldn't let her have her party in a club at the age of fourteen. If you have Netflix, you can watch the movie here.


the lizzie mcguire movie poster

I've watched this film numerous times and I always wished that I could go on a school trip to Rome, become a famous singer, and fall in love with a pop star (even if that pop star did turn out to be a fake). Lizzie McGuire was definitely living the life that all us teenage girls wished we could live and it really does go to show that movies definitely don't equal reality. This is just one of those really good feel good noughties films, which, let's be honest, all of these movies are. If you have Disney+, you can watch the movie here.


Cast of Mean Girls: Cady Heron (Lindsay Lohan); Karen Smith (Amanda Seyfried); Gretchen Wieners (Lacy Chabert); Regina George (Rachel McAdams)

On Wednesdays we wear pink! It wouldn't be a noughties teen movie throwback post if we didn't take a look back at this movie. I have to hold my hands up and admit (and please don't come for me) that I have only watched Mean Girls once and that was back in 2015. It's safe to say that I am definitely long overdue for a watch of this film and once I get the chance I'll watch it (promise!). If you have Netflix, you can watch the movie here.


film poster for 17 again with Zac Efron

Like all things, this post has come full circle. We started off with Zac Efron and now we're finishing off with Zac Efron. I LOVE this film and it also has Matthew Perry in it who played Chandler Bing in F.R.I.E.N.D.S (who, coincidentally, is the character I can most relate to in that show). I guess you could say the premise of this movie is a little weird, a Dad turning back into his teenage self, attending school with his daughter, and a whole host of other things (but I won't mention them now in case you haven't seen it - in which case do because it's a great movie). If you have Amazon Prime, you can watch the movie here.


I feel that there are so many other noughties teen movies out there that I have completely forgotten about. I scoured the internet for AGES and these are the only ones I can remember enough about or felt they were worthy enough of a mention. If there are other noughties teen movies that I have completely forgotten to mention (and let's face it, that's probably quite a lot), then please feel free to mention them in the comments below.


As always, if you have any other suggestions for topics you would like me to cover in this Nostalgia Sunday series, then please feel free to leave them in the comments below and if I haven't already covered them, I'll try my best to do so.


Love Beth xx

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page