top of page

Nostalgia Sunday: Films (Part Two)


films

I don't know about you, but I absolutely LOVE watching back children's films from the noughties. They're incredibly easy to watch and are mostly only ninety minutes long, which is great for me because I have an incredibly short attention span so ninety minutes is plenty long enough for me. Some of my favourites include Wallace and Gromit and the Curse of the Were-Rabbit, Madagascar, and Ice Age, along with the films I looked at in part one, which if you haven't already read I highly recommend that you do. Now you've done that, we can get on with part two...


Wallace and Gromit and the Curse of the Were-Rabbit

wallace and gromit and the curse of the were-rabbit

Let's face it, everyone loves a good old Wallace and Gromit film. I could never watch this film past a certain time in the afternoon as in some ways it was like a children's horror film and I would be too scared to fall asleep if I watched it a few hours before my bedtime. For those of you who didn't know, Peter Kay was the voice of the local policeman. This is one of those films that I had on DVD and luckily didn't have to wait for it to be shown on TV (that's what life was like in the noughties when we didn't have Netflix or any other form of streaming service, and if you're too young to remember that then you're probably too young to be reading this post). You can watch the trailer for the film here.


Madagascar

madagascar

The film that is pretty much famous for the song 'I like to move it, move it' and gave birth to those four mischievous penguins that even got their own film. I watched this film again recently on Netflix (we used to have it on DVD but I'm not sure if we still do or not) and it made me realise how much I really love it. It's such a feel-good, family-friendly movie that everyone can watch and laugh at. To give you a reminder of why this film is so brilliant, you can watch the trailer for it here.


Ice Age

ice age

The film franchise that gave birth to Sid the Sloth, Manny the Mammoth, and Diego the Saber-tooth Tiger (along with that little squirrel that kept on losing his nut - did he ever get it?). Like the other two films, this is also a perfect film for all the family to watch together and enjoy. I will admit, this is probably my least favourite of the three films I've mentioned so far, but it is still an iconic noughties film and despite it being my least favourite, I still loved it. You can watch the trailer for the film here.


Mr. Bean's Holiday

mr. bean's holiday

I'm not sure entirely whether this can be classed as a children's film, but I guess it is appropriate for children? and I did watch it as a child so I'm going to count it as one. I think it just goes to show how great an actor is when they can make an audience laugh without having to say a single word and just rely on facial expressions and noises alone. I swear this film used to always be on ITV2 on a Sunday and I always used to put it on. You can watch the trailer for the film here.


Elf

elf

"SANTAAAAA! I know him. I KNOW him!" Again, I'm not sure whether this can be classed as a children's film, but I'm going to class it as one anyway. I'm ashamed to say it, but the first time I watched Elf was a couple of years ago, however it is a noughties film and while I may not have watched it during my childhood, you can't not include Elf on this list. You can watch the trailer for the film here.


Fantastic Mr. Fox

fantastic mr. fox

A fox who essentially just enjoyed pissing off the local farmers, Mr. Fox is indeed fantastic and is a great film for all the family. Based on the Roald Dahl book, which every noughties child is 100% guaranteed to have read at some point, this film is absolutely brilliant and if anyone knows if it's anywhere online, please let me know as I really want to re-watch it. You can watch the trailer for the film here.


Piglet's Big Movie

piglet's big movie

I don't actually remember anything from this film, however it was the first film I ever went to watch at the cinema and there's a story behind this. Basically when I went to sit down in my seat I was too light for it and the bit of the seat you sit on went back so I was stuck in the seat and all you could see was my feet dangling and all my Mum and Dad could do was laugh at me. Which Winnie the Pooh character do you relate to most? I think I'm a mixture between Winnie the Pooh, Piglet, and Eeyore. You can watch the trailer for the film here.


Toy Story 3

toy story 3

The saddest of the film franchise (I haven't seen the fourth film - don't hate me - so I can't comment on that one). Although released in 2010, we're still counting it as a noughties film (because why not?) and it was a big part of my childhood and I'm fairly certain I went to watch it at the cinema. 10/10 worth watching and if there's one film worth watching in this film franchise, it's this one. You can watch the trailer for the film here.


Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer and the Island of Misfit Toys

rudolph the red-nosed reindeer and the island of misfit toys

I'm fairly certain someone in my family gave this to me on DVD when it was free, or something along those lines, in the Daily Fail (oops. Sorry. Force of habit. I meant Mail). I always used to get really scared of this film (apparently I get scared really easily) and would always have to watch the entire film (I couldn't just start it, get to a certain point where I can't actually remember what happened, and then watch the rest the next day) before going to sleep so that I could actually rest easily. You can watch the trailer for the film here.


Barbie of Swan Lake

barbie of swan lake

I don't remember this film amazingly well, however I did have it on DVD and I remember I had the Barbie doll from the film and (I think) she was my first ever Barbie! You can watch the trailer for the film here.


Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper

barbie as the princess and the pauper

"I'm just like youuuuuu. You're just like meeeeee". Again, I don't remember a single thing from this film but am fairly certain I did have it on DVD and know I absolutely loved it so I thought I would include it on here. You can watch the trailer for the film here.


Mickey's Twice Upon a Christmas

mickey's twice upon a christmas

We had this on DVD and would constantly have it on at Christmas (in fact, not even just at Christmas, any day of the year really). We used to have it on so much that at one point I'm fairly certain I could recite this entire film word for word (couldn't remember a single thing that was important, but could remember every line in this film - talk about priorities!). You can watch the trailer for the film here.


Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus

barbie and the magic of pegasus

Like the other two Barbie films I've already mentioned, I can hardly remember this film at all. However, I had this film in 3D and it came with 3D glasses that were made of cardboard and were incredibly easy to break. I'm not sure if these came with the film as well or not, but I also had some purple Barbie Pegasus plastic high heels that I used to wear around the house all the time. You can watch the trailer for the film here.


The Simpsons Movie

the simpsons movie

I'm not entirely sure how The Simpsons was ever deemed as suitable for children, because watching it back now as an adult (never admitted myself to be an adult before - scary!), I think there are quite a lot of things within the series and the movie that are highly inappropriate (although I'm not denying the fact that I was 100% in front of the telly with Channel 4 on at 6pm every weekday and would not move from my seat for half an hour, or the fact that I went to watch the film when it came out in cinemas and would always put it on whenever it was on telly). To be fair, it is definitely a more toned-down version of Family Guy so I guess I can see why it is appropriate for children, along with the fact that a lot of children's shows actually have a lot of 'adult' jokes within them (but again, is this really all that appropriate?). But you can't deny this film is incredibly funny and you can watch the trailer for it here.


That's all the children's films from the noughties I can remember watching. Did you watch any of these? What other films were you watching in the noughties (children's films)? Let me know in the comments below, along with if you have any requests for any other topics I can cover in this Nostalgia Sunday series, or any other blog topics you would like me to cover.


What was your favourite noughties children's film?


Love Beth xx

16 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page