top of page

Making Changes and Moving On

Updated: Nov 3, 2019

So today's post is a little collab with Kate, who is also known as The Corsetry. Kate is an avid traveller from New Zealand. She loves fashion, empowering women and talking about the benefits of travel! Her blog, The Corsetry (www.thecorsetry.co), is a place for all women to talk about the topics that are most important to us! Kate can be found on instagram, twitter, and pinterest at @thecorsetry. Today she has written a post for my blog all about making changes and moving on with your life:


I remember writing a diary entry like this a few years ago, when I left New Zealand for my big OE (Overseas Experience). Making changes and moving on is so important It is really all about moving on from a point in your life and going out of your comfort zone.



Your comfort zone is exactly that. A space where you feel comfortable, and why should you move on from a place that is really comfortable?


For me, staying in New Zealand long term was never really something that was on the cards for me. Yes, I lived here most of my life, but when I moved overseas for the first time, I really felt like I was in my element. To tell you the truth, I was more upset about leaving the UK to make back home than I was when I initially left NZ! It is a confusing feeling, being homesick for a place where you only lived for a short amount of time.


However, when I got home, I was excited for the next step in my life. I found it easy to start my new job and I actually really enjoyed it, but about a year after arriving home I was feeling like I was back to where I was before I left the UK. Back in my comfort zone. Back to just the daily grind - start work at 8, finish at 5, home for dinner, sleep and repeat. I felt like I was just slipping back into an old routine and I did not want to just have the same life for the next 10 years. I like adventure, and I like making these huge drastic changes.


So, long story short, I decided that I really needed to go back overseas in order to really enjoy my job, my life and try different things.


In August, I am starting a new job in Baku, Azerbaijan, and I cannot wait! So many people have asked where Azerbaijan actually is! And, to be honest, I did not really know where it was until after I had my interview. It will be such a change of environment, there will be so many different experiences, and this huge change is something that I really need.


It is scary moving on and making changes, because the comfort zone is difficult to get out of once you are in it! I am the sort of person who loves having a comfort zone, and I seriously think that everyone should be able to enjoy living in their comfort zone. But, at the same time, it is really important to recognise when you should try to leave that zone, even if it is once a month, or twice a year! Doing these little things where you can step out of your box can really help you realise that you can do so much more than you think you can.


At the moment, I am at that stage where I am both excited and nervous about going to Azerbaijan. I think I am concerned that I will not make any new friends, but I am excited to join some clubs and try different things. I am hoping to join a hiking club when I am there!


What is something you have done recently to take yourself out of your comfort zone? It does not have to be as extreme as moving overseas, because even trying something new can take you out of your comfort zone!

18 views0 comments
bottom of page