top of page

Nostalgia Sunday: Kid's TV (Cbeebies) Part Two


"Don't you wish you could take a single childhood memory and blow it up into a bubble and live inside it forever?" ~ Sarah Addison Allen

Here is the second of my posts where I look back at some of the things from my childhood, which is the noughties. This is part two to my posts on some of the Cbeebies shows I would watch when I was at pre-school. If you haven't read part one yet, you can read that here. So, without further ado, let's get back into it...


The Story Makers


I can vaguely remember The Story Makers, however what I can remember is that it was one of the last things I would watch before going to bed. I can remember the two puppet-type things called Jelly and Jackson, however despite not being able to remember not that much about the show, probably because I was incredibly young at the time and my memory isn't amazing anyway, but I can remember that this was one of my favourite programmes and I would try my hardest to never miss an episode. I can also remember there being a cartoon of a blue cow, which I am guessing was part of one of the stories they told. One thing I didn't know about the show, which I'm guessing is because I was so young at the time, was that Danny John-Jules was in the show, the guy from Red Dwarf and Strictly Come Dancing. You can watch an episode of the show here.


64 Zoo Lane


I'm pretty sure that every single child that grew up throughout the nineties and noughties will know this theme tune. In fact, I'm also pretty sure that anyone who didn't grow up watching the show would still know the theme tune if asked about it. I'm fairly certain I could recite it off by heart if asked. But for those of you who have no idea what this show was about, it's about a girl called Lucy who lived next door to a zoo and when she was meant to be in bed she would join the animals, who would tell her stories about their lives before they came to the zoo. This show would always make me wish that I lived next to a zoo and wish I could slide down a giraffe's neck and sit amongst the animals to hear their stories of what life was like for them when they were free. Then again, looking back on it, I don't think it would smell too good. If you would like to go on a trip down memory lane or want to know what the hell I'm talking about, you can watch an episode of the show here.


Little Robots


I feel that Little Robots is that show where upon mentioning it to anyone they're not going to have any idea what you're talking about, despite them having watched the show as a child. I was one of those people but it literally took a listen to the theme song for me to remember the entire thing, so you can watch/listen to that here. It is essentially about a load of robots who get up to all sorts and are able to change between night and day by the switch of a leaver. As you can probably tell, I don't really remember the show that well, but if you would like to have a quick reminder yourself, you can watch an episode of it here.


The Shiny Show


Like the Little Robots, I can remember this programme and can remember absolutely loving it, but it was not until seeing an old episode somewhere that I remembered it after someone had mentioned it to me. I can vaguely remember at the end of an episode they would sing "give yourself a pat on the back, a pat on the back, a pat on the back. Give yourself a pat on the back, you've won, you've won, you've won". I can also remember every object was shiny (hence it being called 'The Shiny Show), but looking back on it now it's quite obvious these 'shiny things' were just wrapped in tin foil. They had a quiz each episode and the winner would win the shiny thing, hence the use of the song above. If you are interested in watching an episode of the show, you can do so here.


Me Too!


If you didn't spend your days as a child sat at your family computer on the Cbeebies website playing on the Me Too! game where you get to build your own city then you didn't live your childhood to it's fullest potential. This show was based around Granny Murray, a childminder who looks after people's children while they go to work. I always felt as a child that the show mostly focused on the adults going to work and what they were doing during their working day, and let me tell you from watching this show, whichever job-role an episode focused on I wanted to do when I grew up. It did still focus on whatever the children were doing at Granny Murray's house, but I always found these bits much more boring than watching what the adults were getting up to at work, probably because the adults would be singing and I love anything musical. Although, it heightened my expectations for what the working world would be like, and if you have not yet entered that world, it is no where near as exciting as I thought it would be. You can watch an episode of the show here.


The Koala Brothers


This show, like Come Outside (I'm looking at you, Aunt Mabel), also contributed to climate change as the Koala Brothers were constantly flying around in their plane (obviously I'm joking before anyone comes for me). This show made me want to go and experience life in Australia (something I am still, to this day, considering doing). I have a feeling that I had this on video or DVD, but I may be completely wrong and it may have just been shown on repeat quite a lot. It focused on being good to your friends and helping people out in their time of need, no matter what their problem is or how difficult you think it might be to fix. You can get a quick reminder of what this show was like by watching an episode of it here.


Step Inside


I really loved this show, however did anyone else find the house with the face slightly weird? For me it wasn't even the fact the house had a face, it was more the fact that the actual face itself was weird in some way. I was really into books as a child, so as the show's main focus was books, it was perfect for me. I was also obsessed with the cat in it, Twinkle, and always wished I could have a blue cat (although, unless I dyed one of my cats blue, this is not possible). I think I also liked this show because it featured books I was already familiar with and Mr Mopple (Chris Jarvis) narrating it made them come alive. If you want to find out what the hell I am on about (I am aware blue cats and houses with faces are very weird) or just want to go on a trip down memory lane, you can watch an episode of the show here.


So there is my part two of Cbeebies shows from the noughties. There will be a part three up fairly soon, hopefully in the next few weeks.


Like last week, if you also watched any of the above programmes as a child then I would love for you to let me know in the comments below and what your take was on them. Similarly, if there are any other Cbeebies programmes you watched that you would like me to mention then please leave them in the comments below, and as long as I watched them too they may be included.


If you have any recommendations for Nostalgia Sunday you would like me to include, then please let me know. It has to involve the noughties and be something from a noughties childhood, but as long as they meet that criteria then anything goes.


Thank you so much for reading and I hope to see you back here, same time next week.


Love Beth xx

213 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page